From Lemmy documentation:

We don’t delete anything from our database, just hide it from users. Deleted or removed Communities/Posts/Comments have a “restore” button.

But don’t take my word for it. Try it out yourself. You can make a comment, delete the comment (your username appears to remain) and then restore its content.

  • Nutomic@lemmy.ml
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    1
    ·
    3 years ago

    This is true, but there are two exceptions: admins have a purge action which permanently deletes content. And like others already said, when you delete your account everything that you posted is permanently deleted.

    • Sleepless One@lemmygrad.ml
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      1
      ·
      3 years ago

      I could see it being an issue if a user gets permabanned from an instance and wants to delete their content, since they won’t be able to access their account to purge it themself.